Blog post, Hedgehog

26th December

Yesterday as we all know was Christmas day! In my stocking almost all my presents were based on hedgehogs and I got an adopt a hedgehog pack by the Folly Wildlife Rescue Centre which is near where I live. I’ve got a few more things I have found out from them to share today:

  • Cats often like to eat hedgehogs’ food you may leave out for them, this leaves a smell that then scares away your hedgehog visitor. If you do not have a cat and want to attract or look after hedgehogs, I suggest you keep it that way.
  • Due to busy roads, loss of habitat and other hazards their numbers have now dropped from over 30,000,000 in the 1960s to under 1,000,000 today. As you can tell there is a big difference there and we need to do all that we can to stop their numbers decreasing.
  • There is a rare breed called the White Hedgehog with a pink nose and white hair and spines
  • Hedgehogs eat things such as earthworms, caterpillars and other invertebrates like slugs. This information Image result for rare white hedgehogmight be useful if you want to leave out some food for a hedgehog.

Leave a comment